May 20, 2022

Charlie Doodle

Unique Art & Entertainment

Six Regional Artists Selected for the Camera Obscura Art Lab Artist In Residence Program

2 min read

December 21, 2021 1:42 PM

SANTA MONICA, Calif. — The City of Santa Monica is pleased to announce the 2022 Camera Obscura Art Lab (COAL) resident artists. Six Los Angeles County-based artists were selected by a panel of artistic peers to spend 14 weeks in two studio spaces overlooking the Pacific Ocean. This year’s resident artists work in film, animation, installation, mixed-media, performance, photography, puppetry, and sculpture. Selected artists receive a stipend and opportunities to share their work in an online format. 

Over the last two years, the program has evolved to respond to the needs of artists during this critical time. Changes include an increase in outreach efforts and promotion to a broader artistic community, an increase in artist stipends, and a pivot to exhibit final work online. The program is part of a network of artist opportunities offered by the City of Santa Monica’s Cultural Affairs Division that has served over 200+ artists across disciplines. 

The Camera Obscura Art Lab artists-in-residence for 2022 are:

Zach Dorn zachdorn.com is a filmmaker and performing artist who creates miniature melodramas that explore the underbelly of childhood nostalgia through the disappointed eyeballs of adulthood. 

 

Melissa Ferrari melissaferrari.com is a nonfiction filmmaker, experimental animator, and magic lanternist. Her practice engages the mythification of pseudoscience, phantasmagoria, and fraudulent histories of the supernatural.

Andre Keichian andrekeichian.cargo.site is an interdisciplinary artist working across photography, video, and sculptural installation. Their personal history as a queer, transgender, Argentine-American operates as an indexical relationship that expands to interconnected subjects. 

Lua Kobayashi luakobayashi.com focuses on the stories behind everyday objects, places and people we believe we are familiar with; she illustrates these anthologies with miniature scenes/sets. 

Dakota Noot dakotanoot.com is a multi-disciplinary installation and performance artist who explores the complexities of our diet and animal-human relationships through installations (made with drawings mounted on free-standing foam core) or wearable art taped to the body. 

Diane Williams dianewilliamsartist.com is a Pilipinx interdisciplinary artist and researcher. Williams creates woven objects and structures, combining cultural detritus as collected materials pulled from diverse sources: friends, family (in US, Philippines, and abroad), and her immigrant communities in Los Angeles.   

For more information about the arts in Santa Monica, visit santamonica.gov/arts.

Artist Photos >

###

Media Contact


Constance Farrell


Public Information Officer


[email protected]

Categories



Arts, Culture & Fun, The Arts

Departments



Community Services

More Information



https://smgov365-my.sharepoint.com/:f:/g/personal/constance_farrell_santamonica_gov/EmXKdeY3E2ZOkE86_RV63yUB1IhHTfAzU5HKrrLOtI_opg?e=IIIjZ7

https://www.santamonica.gov/press/2021/12/21/six-regional-artists-working-selected-for-the-camera-obscura-art-lab-artist-in-residence-program