December 4, 2022

Charlie Doodle

Unique Art & Entertainment

Coronado Island Film Festival Announces Tribute Honorees | Coronado Island News

4 min read

Coronado has long embraced its Mayberry-by-the-sea cadence of life, a vibe that carries over into the culture and events hosted on the island, including the Coronado Island Film Festival (CIFF). Celebrating the sixth year, the festival is Nov. 10-14, 2021. The much anticipated in-person event will screen close to 100 films, including shorts, documentaries, studio and independent features, emerging student films and a slate of internationally lauded films. A select number of films and the Shorts Fest (13 tracks) will also be available on demand. The festival is a fusion of red carpet moments blended with the charm and low-key elegance that Coronado is known for.

The festival has attracted industry luminaries and top industry leaders to host panels, workshops and be honored at the annual Leonard Maltin Celebrity Tribute, hosted in the iconic Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado. Held on Friday, Nov. 12, the festival is proud to announce this year’s Tribute Award honorees: the Leonard Maltin Tribute Award will honor Nancy Utley, whose 21 year legacy and stellar stewardship of Searchlight Pictures oversaw many of Searchlight’s most successful films to date, with a total of 122 Golden Globe® and

165 Oscar® nominations, including Best Picture winners “Nomadland,” “The Shape of Water,” ’12 Years a Slave,” “Birdman,” and “Slumdog Millionaire.” The Festival honored Chloé Zhao with the inaugural Leonard Maltin Tribute Award in 2020. Zhao, “Nomadland’s” director and writer, went on to become the first Asian/Chinese woman to win the Oscar for Best Director.

The Legacy Award will honor one of the last reigning actresses from the Golden Age of Hollywood, Ann Blyth. She made her Broadway debut in 1941 at age 13 and is widely recognized for her Oscar-nominated role as Vera in “Mildred Pierce,” opposite of Joan Crawford and she went on to star opposite some of Hollywood’s leading talent of the day including Gregory Peck (“The World in His Arms”) and Paul Newman (“The Helen Morgan Story”). The Cultural Impact Award will be awarded to Richard Dreyfuss, recognizing his diverse and expansive body of work in film, television, and activism which includes the establishment of the Dreyfuss Civic Initiative, a non-profit formed to revive, elevate and enhance the teaching of civics in public schools grades k-12.

The Transcendent Award, will be presented to French film composer and conductor, Alexandre Desplat. His many accolades, include two Academy Awards for his musical scores for “The Grand Budapest Hotel” and “The Shape of Water.” He has received nine additional Academy Award nominations for films including; “Isle of Dogs,” “The King’s Speech,” “Argo,” and “The Imitation Game,” and has been honored with 10 César nominations, 10 BAFTA nominations, 11 Golden Globe Award nominations and 10 Grammy nominations. His recent work includes, Wes Anderson’s “The French Dispatch” and Martin Bourboulon’s “Eiffel.“

The Artistry in Filmmaking Award will be presented to Mayes Rubeo for costume design. Her diverse talent and creative work earned her an Oscar nomination for “JoJo Rabbit,” and most recently an Emmy nomination for Marvel’s WandaVision. Her other films include “Apocalypto,” “Avatar,” “Thor: Ragnarok,” “Warcraft: The Beginning,” “World War Z,” and “John Carter.” Mayes will also be hosting a MasterLab Workshop on costume design on Saturday, Nov. 13.

The Cinematography Award will honor Gabriel Beristain, born in Mexico City to a legendary theatrical family, his work has been recognized and honored in Mexico, the U.S., and throughout Europe. Following his many contributions as action unit DP for Marvel Studios, including “Iron Man” and “Guardians of the Galaxy,” his most recent work as Director of Photography in “Black Widow,” he is respected as one of the leading artists in his craft. Other notable projects include the iconic Aerosmith videos, and working with famed directors David Mamet, Guillermo Del Toro, David Ayer, and Roland Joffe.

“Spanning a diverse array of talent in their respective area of expertise, our honorees represent the very best of filmmaking and continue to produce powerful cinematic stories that move and transport us with their creative genius,” states Executive Director, Merridee Book, “CIFF is humbled by the collective talent and outstanding achievements of our 2021 Tribute honorees!”

Tickets for the Tribute Awards and Dinner may be purchased on the festival website.

For the full programing slate please visit the festival website,

Festival Packages and Individual tickets for the Tribute Gala, screenings and other events are on sale now!

The latest Festival COVID protocols can be found on the website and are subject to change at the behest of local and state mandates and recommendations.

Copyright © | Newsphere by AF themes.